Comment bait

LawnI doubt many people reading this would have much experience with the subject of this post, but now that I have started to establish my presence here, I would enjoy some responses to what I’ve been saying. For now, I will settle for anything, so even if you don’t have an opinion or question on the subject, just say hi or something off topic. Feel free to comment on previous and future posts as well. 🙂

I bought a house in 2006 and while the house was in good condition, the yard and surrounding area was very neglected. For the past 2+ years I’ve been repairing it and trying to spruce it up. Currently, I am working on filling out my lawn. This is kind of a daunting task because I have no experience and there is a lot of mistakes one can make. I’m trying to go all out while not breaking the bank. Meaning I’ll do everything I can that is a reasonable cost.

Apparently, an important part of making a lawn look good is a process called overseeding. With overseeding you prep your lawn and then throw seed down over the whole thing to try to fill in bare spots and make the lawn more dense overall. Apparently, this is more effective in Fall, but it’s Spring now and I am impatient. I found advice online that rye grass has the best chance at germinating enough before it gets too hot, so that’s what I bought.

As for prepping the lawn. I am having the soil tested at a local lab for pH and fertilization levels ($15). I also am having my lawn professionally aerated which only costs $40, less expensive than doing it myself. Beyond that, you are supposed to cut the lawn very short right before you throw down seed which I haven’t decided if I am going to do yet since it makes me nervous. I did buy a new blade for my very old mower, so hopefully that will help.

Maybe I’ll put up some before and after pictures if it’s sufficiently impressive when I’m done.

4 Responses to “Comment bait”

  1. Mr. Paul J. Hinton Says:

    You can call me DAD. Your writing ability is much more impressive then I remember from your high school days. It’s been a while since Ive read any of your musings. Even though I am a Conservative Capitalist, I’m very proud of the fact you are a free thinking person who does not begrudge anyone there opinion on any subject , whether you agree or not. Who learned you to think like that? P.S. Hope the lawn gods are gracious to you.

    • mikehinton Says:

      Thanks so much Dad, that means a lot. Maybe you already knew this, but the “Liberal” in Liberal Capitalist is from the old definition of the word. Back at the beginning of America, and still nowadays in Europe, Liberal was closer to Libertarian than it’s current definition in modern America. The founding fathers were all Liberals. Think of it as taking the term back! 🙂

  2. Mark P Neyer Says:

    Good luck on the lawn buisness. Oh, the joys of home ownership.

  3. Mary Beth Says:

    I miss our midnight conversations in Commons 102 A ( I am pretty sure that is where I lived)…. I also just really miss Xavier and the fun of being in college.. the real world is not all that its cracked up to be.. but lets go X! Kick some Pitt butt!! and good luck with the lawn.. I think pictures would be a great addition to your blog! ( I also think you should do more non-political economic blog postings for my benefit )

Leave a Reply

