2nd to Last PhD Hurtle

atomI probably won’t be posting a whole lot for the next month.  This is caused by the do-or-die project I will be engaging in.  It’s called the General Exam and it is a written paper and oral exam, kind of like a mini thesis defense that physics students must complete to be official PhD candidates.  It’s an intense experience, and as hard as it is for me, I will have to concentrate on basically nothing but this project until I pass.  I have to be done before the start of June because my professor will be in Paris for the whole month.  I’m already nervous, if I don’t pass they are going to give me my Masters and send me on my way, but that is an unlikely outcome.  Luckily, I have become an important asset to my professor and he has helped me understand better what is expected of me during the presentation.

On a happier note, it looks like I will finally have my first authored pubication as a colaborator in this pretty neat paper.  I’ll summorize and link to it if and when it is published.

Leave a Reply

